Monday,  August 2, 2021  1:33 pm

Last call for 2019 Awards of Excellence nominations!

Last call for 2019 Awards of Excellence nominations!

For the last 15 years, PAX Global Media has celebrated the best of the best in the Canadian travel industry with its annual Awards of Excellence, each year honouring a range of travel professionals in several unique categories.

From travel agents on the front line to the suppliers who tirelessly promote their respective brands, these annual awards are the most anticipated honours in the Canadian travel industry each year – and the only one of their kind to be promoted across three websites:, and

To commemorate 15 years of recognizing the travel industry’s best, the 2019 edition of the Awards of Excellence will see the addition of a new category: the award for Personality of the last 15 Years, honouring the industry achievements of one outstanding travel pro during that time.

Rounding out the award categories are Travel Agent of the Year, Reservation Agent of the Year, Representative of the Year, Rookie of the Year and back for a third year, the Social Media Guru of the Year award.

"PAX Global Media congratulates all the nominees of our 15th annual PAX Awards of Excellence," said Uguette Chiasson, founder and president/CEO of PAX Global Media. “There is incredible work being done by individuals to advance our industry through innovation, collaboration and superior leadership. For the past 15 years, PAX has enjoyed recognizing these travel professionals for their valuable contributions to the industry."

There’s still a few days to nominate yourself or a colleague in one of the six award categories, with the nomination window remaining open through today (Nov. 25). Voting will then take place from Nov. 26 to Dec. 9, when PAX readers will once again help choose the industry’s brightest stars, with the winners of this year’s Awards of Excellence announced in on Dec. 12, 2019.


The 2019 Awards of Excellence Categories

This year’s Awards of Excellence will recognize Canadian travel professionals in the following categories:

Personality of the last 15 Years

This sought-after title will be awarded to an individual who has stood out among all others in Canada’s travel industry. Whether for achievements made in their career or philanthropic work, this award recognizes this exceptional person’s value and acknowledges the respect and recognition they deserve for the competence and passion they bring to their profession over the last 15 years.

Travel Agent of the Year

This recipient is recognized for bringing professionalism and added value to his or her company and the industry at large. This individual is known by colleagues and representatives from other travel companies for hard work and dedication to the job, and always goes above and beyond to achieve client satisfaction.

Reservation Agent of the Year

The quality of this person’s service (wholesaler and consolidator) has contributed towards promoting their company to travel agencies in Canada. This person is recognized by travel agents for providing exceptional service and guidance, is depended on by managers, and looked-up to by peers.

Representative of the Year

The recipient of this award (wholesaler, cruise, insurance, hotel chain, airline, etc.) is recognized for having passion, enthusiasm and knowledge for the brand they represent. This person is a familiar face to travel agencies within their assigned territory, and works tirelessly to ensure the travel community is educated on the product and has all resources available to sell it to clients.

Rookie of the Year 

This Award of Excellence is presented to a newcomer to the travel industry profession as of Jan. 1, 2019. So far, this person has shown true skill and enthusiasm for tasks at hand and the industry at large.They are recognized by managers and peers within their company as an individual with great potential.

Social Media Guru of the Year 

Know someone who's always on Twitter, or always has the best feed on Instagram? This award goes to the individual who has used the internet to the best of their abilities in order to promote social and economic development within their organization.

Thanks to all participants in the 2019 Awards of Excellence!

Don't miss a single travel story: subscribe to PAX today!